WHO MAY APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE?
Both parties must be at least 18 years of age. Florida law exception: if one person is at least 17, has parental consent, and the older party to the marriage is not more than 2 years older than the younger party to the marriage.
IS THERE A WAITING PERIOD FOR THE LICENSE TO BECOME EFFECTIVE?
Yes. There is a three-day waiting period if either of the parties to the marriage are residents of Florida. This waiting period will be waived if both parties provide proof of having received pre-marital counseling from a provider who has been approved by the Clerk of the Circuit Court of Osceola County. A list of approved pre-marital counselors is available here: Premarital Course Provider List. Couples who provide proof of having completed pre-marital counseling may obtain a marriage license and be married the same day.
ARE THERE ANY OTHER REQUIREMENTS?
Yes, the law requires applicants to have read the Family Law Handbook and affirm that they have read it when applying for a marriage license.
Family Law Handbook English
Family Law Handbook Spanish
If either party has been married previously and is no longer married because of divorce or death of the spouse, you will need to provide the date (month/date/year) the divorce was granted, or the spouse passed away in order to complete the marriage license application.
Both applicants must appear with valid I.D. Acceptable proof of identification: Driver’s License, Passport (picture on passport needs to look like person), State ID Card.
You will need to provide your Social Security Number. If no Social Security Number, please use Passport Number.
MUST I APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE IN THE COUNTY WHERE I LIVE?
No, a marriage license may be applied for and solemnized in any Florida county.
HOW LONG IS A MARRIAGE LICENSE VALID ONCE IT IS ISSUED?
The marriage must be solemnized within sixty (60) days of issuance of the Marriage License. The ceremony can be performed anywhere in the State of Florida.
WHO MAY PERFORM MARRIAGE CEREMONIES?
A regularly ordained minister or another ordained clergy;
Elders in communion with some churches;
All judicial officers (JUDGES) of the STATE OF FLORIDA;
Clerk of Circuit Court and their deputies of the STATE OF FLORIDA;
Notaries Public of the State of Florida.
WHEN SHOULD THE LICENSE BE RETURNED TO THE CLERK?
A marriage cannot be officially recorded until the license is returned to the Clerk. It should be returned within 10 days after the wedding.
CAN I BE MARRIED IN THE CLERK’S OFFICE?
Yes. Deputy Clerks are authorized and available to perform marriage ceremonies. The fee for this service is determined by Florida Statute and is $30.00.
WHAT IS THE FEE FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE?
The fee for a marriage license is listed in the Related Fees section. Related Fees
CAN I PAY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE WITH A PERSONAL CHECK?
No, payment for marriage license must be made by cash, credit/debit card or money order. There is a 3.5% service charge when using credit/debit cards.
MARRIAGE LICENSE COPIES:
Copies may be purchased in person or by mailing the MARRIAGE LICENSE COPY REQUEST FORM found in the Related Forms section. Marriage License Copy Request
The cost per certified copy of a marriage license is $3.00. Our office accepts cash, money orders and cashier’s checks by mail. Credit/debit cards are accepted in person only. There is a 3.5% service charge when using a credit/debit card.
For US customers, marriage license copies may also be ordered online using a credit card through a third-party vendor, MyFloridaCounty. Their site does not support shipping to an address outside of the United States. Their website is www.MyFloridaCounty.com
For customers outside of the United States, copies may be ordered online using a credit card through a third-party vendor, Vitalchek. Their website is www.vitalchek.com. This will not be a copy of the marriage license, but a state issued marriage certificate. US residents may also order a state issued marriage certificate through this website.
Customers outside of the United States who require an Apostille may visit the Florida Department of State website for instructions. http://notaries.dos.state.fl.us/notproc7.html